Put the Lime in the Coconut

CLimeunfrosted

I believe that all occasions in life should be celebrated.  My lovely sister Jennifer came to visit me in Portland this week.  Well, she came to visit my whole family, but I’ll pretend it was all for me.  Of all the occasions worth celebrating, getting to see people you love is probably one of the best   How do I celebrate?  Well, I bake.  Bet you didn’t see that one coming.  Jen requested coconut cupcakes, so I set out to find the perfect recipe.

CLime3

I ended up settling on a simple recipe from Hungry Rabbit.  The cupcake base turned out lovely.  It was moist, but not too gooey, perfect really.  I added in a dash of orange peel and omitted the coconut extract simply because I didn’t have any on hand.  This may have been a mistake.  They were really good, but the coconut flavor just wasn’t as strong as I would have liked.

CLime6

As for the frosting, I also omitted the coconut extract.  However, I added in lime zest and lime juice and it turned out deeee-lightful! I love lime and it mixes wonderfully with coconut.  And yes, I’ll admit, the entire process of frosting these cupcakes was accompanied by my own personal rendition of “Put the Lime in the Coconut.”

CLime2

Leave a Reply

