Barista Competition Cupcakes

This last weekend, two of our baristas competed at the USBC NW Regional Competition.  We closed the shop for the day and our entire staff drove up to Seattle to show our support.  Except for me.   And boy did I miss out.  Devin Chapman (Coava represent!) took first place in the NW Region for the 2nd year in a row.  So to make up for not being there in person I decided to make a special batch of USBC Regional Cupcakes.

I ended up making two different batches of cupcakes and wasn’t terribly happy with either one of them for a base.  The first recipe I tried turned out dense and far too cake-like.  It tasted good but the texture wasn’t right.  The second recipe was a chocolate based cupcake I pulled from Hummingbird Bakery.  This one just tasted a little dull.  I was a little disappointed, but there’s an easy way to cover up bland cupcakes: Fill them with Nutella!  Seriously it covers all wrongs and tastes delicious!

The best part of these cupcakes was the frosting.  Danggggg, it is amazing.  This one’s a keeper.  I found a recipe for Coffee Liquer Latte Buttercream and made a few modifications.  First I used a brand new coffee from Coava, the Flor de Concepcion.  I ground it coarsely and then simmered the grinds in heavy whipping cream.  After it cooled down, I added coffee liquer and then mixed it into my traditional buttercream recipe.

Ahhh bliss.  Coffee and cupcakes, my two favorite things brought together into one delightfully sweet item. Oh and of course to keep with the rich decadence of the recipe I topped each cupcake with shavings of Ghirardelli Chocolate.

Bon Appetite!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

