Donuts!!!

I take after my dad in a lot of ways.  A lot of the little things.  I inherited his artistic sense, his horrible punny sense of humor, his love of coffee, and his dang sweet tooth.  I love sweet things.  I’ve tried to ween myself off of sugar, and I just can’t seem to do it.  Thanks to my dad, I have always loved a strong cup of coffee and a donut to eat it with. Even after my venture into specialty coffee and a year spent at Coava developing my palate toward the finer coffees in life I still get a craving for a sludgy mug of my dad’s coffee.

Yummmmm.

See this is the trick:  However shamefully bad your coffee is, if you pair it with a sweet donut, everything balances out.

In honor of my dad, but really just my love of donuts, I’ve been on the search for the best donuts in Portland.  Now the Portland donut scene is growing.  I know it’s shocking, but donuts have finally been discovered.  I’ve created a list of places to check out and will let you know the victor of this competition.

The Donut List

1. Voodoo Donuts

2.  Tonalli’s Donuts

3. Blue Star Donuts

4. Coco Donuts

5. Annie’s Donuts

6. Delicious Donuts

7. Helen Bernhard’s Bakery

After asking around, driving around, and yelping around these are the ones that made it to the list.  In all honesty I have had donuts from 5 out of 7 of these already.  But I’m waiting to visit the final two to give my final word.  If I have forgotten one that deserves mention, please tell me.  No, Krispy Kreme is not on the list, I don’t think I need to bother explaining that sugar in the shape of donut, still does not qualify it as a donut.

Leave a Reply

